Best Day

Taylor Swift
released her
whole music

catalog to
spotify at
midnight last
night.

I’ve been re
living the
tame parts

of my 20s all
morning.

It came from
nowhere, a long
forgotten

song that once
I wrote the lyrics
to in a card

to my Dad. I
made him listen

to the song
with me, driving
down the
freeway.

I can wait another
six years to
hear it again.

I wonder every day
what my Dad is now.
Where he went because

all thats left are
the moments that got
immortalized when I
wasn’t

paying attention
until the attention
is all suddenly

thrown back into
those lost seconds.

Sometimes I’m just
caught in between
the pulse to normalize
it all until I can’t

feel the memory or
wish I could lose
the memory again so

that when it returns
nothing
but feeling

could be as
clear.

Leave a Reply

