Muriel

You walk into the kitchen. Filthy from camping. Film on your skin. Eyes sparkling. Sunburnt nose. Wide smile. Your crooked perfect teeth have always been something about you that I find special.

“Americans love their cosmetic dental surgeries.” You once sniffed to me, probably after I told you I had to have my whole mouth filled because of what my choices did to my teeth.

Today the sun shines through the kitchen. Sweltering fat sun outside. The cats lay in the lounge, sprawled out and flicking their tails. The dogs prance around, excited to greet you.

You wrap your arms around my waist. I hug your shoulders & breathe into your neck. You are warm.
I am

free.

Leave a Reply

